William Stokes Award for MMI Clinician Scientist Fellow

SFI/HRB/MMI Workshop- ‘Insights into Successful Translational Research’
December 16, 2011
The Irish Research Nurses Network Annual Meeting 2011
December 16, 2011
Show all

William Stokes Award for MMI Clinician Scientist Fellow

Dr Fergus McCarthy winner of The Royal College of Physicians of Ireland William Stokes Award for 2011 with Professor Louise Kenny

MMI Clinician Scientist Fellow Dr Fergus McCarthy based in UCC and supervised by Professor Louise Kenny has won the William Stokes Award presented by the Royal College of Physicians of Ireland (RCPI). Further details here

The William Stokes Award established in honour of Dr. William Stokes an eminent Dublin physician in the 1800’s was set up to support and recognise the highest standard of research by Specialist Registrars.

This is the second success for MMI Clinician Scientist Fellows with RCSI-based Dr Sanjay Chotirmall winning the William Stokes Award in 2010. Please see here

About the Clinician Scientist Fellowship Programme (CSFP)

Since 2008 22 medical graduates are undertaking PhD studies in five academic institutions as MMI Clinician Scientist Fellows. The CSFP is a structured PhD programme funded under PRTLI Cycle 4 which is training this key group of clinician scientists who will graduate with the unique and specialised knowledge essential to fulfil Ireland’s research needs in translational medicine.

Further information on the CSFP can be found at the below link:

The MMI Clinician Scientist Fellowship Programme is funded under the Programme for Research in Third Level Institutions (PRTLI) Cycle 4 and co-funded under the European Regional Development Fund (ERDF).